I like my milk like I like my tea – cultured.

 

This week I introduced a new ferment to our collection – milk kefir. I also started a new-to-me ferment of  Villi Yogurt and a new-to-me Desem Sourdough sponge. All were purchased from Cultures for Health. I add these to my ongoing attempts at Living Foods which includes kombucha , of which I have now proclaimed myself a master.

And the day after the fresh starts… guess what I receive from a darling friend? This recipe for Fermented Cranberry Sauce. Yes! I did get cranberries for this recipe and YES I will begin the ferment today. Right after I drain my yogurt for its whey… Of course, I don’t use the canned stuff that Thug Kitchen warns against. (Read that post. It is freaking hi-larious!)

 

And, oh yeah. I also read Sandor Ellix Katz’s Wild Fermentation. (Be cool. Buy it from the publisher, won’t ya?) Watch out dear family. Kraut and kimchi are next on the list. And I may even start miso.

 

IMG_1510

 

 

20130423-142031.jpg

 

20121211-110648.jpg

20120224-174925.jpg

 

