I am not an early voter. I imagine some day if I have something planned on Election Day that would prevent me from getting to the polls in the twelve hours they are open, I might choose to vote early. I do think that among the few national holidays, Election Day should be one. Christmas and Easter should not.

As I watch one of our local early voting polls fill with lines, I am grateful to see people making the choice to participate in the process.

I also see competing campaigners handing out “voting sheets.” Voting sheets are sheets filled with “for whom our organization wants you to vote.” Let me offer this simple reflection…

If ever in order to vote, I must rely on a sheet that a stranger hands me because I have not chosen to learn as much as I can on my own, then I should not vote. A vote is a terrible thing to waste and voting someone else’s agenda is wasteful.

