I think peer pressure is usually a good thing. Yeah, yeah. I know people of all ages do really stupid things because they think they, too, can jump off a bridge and survive. But most of the time, peer pressure in my experience has only caused me to be a better person. Be it to want to stand out more, or less, in class or to step up my clothes from sloppy to casual or even to be a little more social. I benefit from the feedback that peer pressure provides me.

I know. I know. Totally backwards to the current psychobabble about self-esteem (whatevah) and bullying (so tired of this one). Who cares. Call me backwards. I think screwing with the fundamentally innate behaviors that develop within micro-cultures is dangerous. Wait. That needs to be in bold print, I feel so strongly about it. I think screwing with the fundamentally innate behaviors that develop within micro-cultures is dangerous.

And so I bring to you this article that addresses the peer pressure of parents and of nosey Nellies. Parents are told to helicopter and nosey Nellies are everywhere. So.Very.Tired.Of.Nosey.Nellies. And Neds. I am tired of Nosey Neds, too.

SO read the article. And then maybe share the article in an attempt to encourage parents not to be pressured into helicoptering their little people and to be brave to pressure government to back off.

