This week I was reminded that illness sucks. Be it cancer, degeneration, organ failure, or a summer cold. While my own family is not dealing with these at the moment, my heart hurts for my friends and their families that must. It is life. It is Nature. Still sucks, though.

This week I was reminded that horses poop a lot. Horses poop a lot.

This week I was reminded that the world is indeed full of more love than hate. But hate makes it above-the-fold in print and online.

This week I was reminded that our little speck of space is glorious. It is serene. It is tranquil.

This week I was reminded that many parents don’t really like their kids and are dreading the children’s presence in the summer months. And teachers and administrators are eager to get them out of “their space,” too. My heart breaks for these kids. I pray someone likes them at some point in their precious lives.

This week I was reminded that some parents passionately adore being with their children, but just don’t know the freedom they’d have if they broke out of the jail cell called public education. I was reminded of how I can help foster their spirits by suggesting and providing materials and opportunities for discussion. I should do more of that.

This week I was reminded that stuff breaks. A lot. And in lots. Not in threes. But it’s just stuff. And no one is hurt and we still have each other. We need less stuff, anyways.

This week I was reminded of the great joy of teaching a child a new and useful skill. Even though blue crabs are spikey, I now know my children can process yet another food source when the economy collapses.

This week I was reminded of how far crab-part stink can travel. Why won’t the raccoons get busy?

This week I was reminded that as random and not focused as our learning at home is, our children still do learn. Even by choice. At baseball fields.

This week I was reminded of what a technotard I am. I learned that a motherboard is indeed not a joke about how computers run our lives, but it is an actual thing in a computer and mine is dead. So here I am on the iPhone. Does it have a motherboard?

This week I was reminded, repeatedly, of how little I see my family. And they’re 75 minutes away.

This week I was reminded of how wonderful a cousin is. Even if he does live on the Left Coast. (That was a cheap shot, Charlie.)

This week I was reminded of how much I adore Summer. And it is June 1. So I declare Summer here.

20120601-075008.jpg

20120601-075024.jpg

20120601-075035.jpg

20120601-075057.jpg

20120601-075103.jpg

20120601-075115.jpg

20120601-075127.jpg

20120601-075136.jpg

20120601-075145.jpg

