“What is the purpose of your blog?” I was recently asked.

“To empty my head,” I replied.

“Why do think anyone cares what you think?”

“I don’t care if anyone cares what I think. I’m emptying my head. If someone chooses to read what I’ve written and if someone chooses to learn, grow, use from what I’ve written, well, that’s their choice.”

But I wasn’t completely honest. I didn’t know it at that moment, but as my head filled with self-reflection and my heart ached during the analysis, I knew there was something more. There are at least three things more.

1- Marriage is fantastic. Spiritual Marriage is fantastic. If I choose for it to be fantastic. I want to share that. I believe it. Firmly. There is nothing pro-spiritual marriage in my culture. Nothing to encourage spiritual couples to remain couples. It’s less economical to be (governmentally and spiritually) married. There is more support in churches for governmentally and spiritually divorced couples. Children from broken homes receive priority in camps, programs, and more tolerance at school.

I want to share that I love being loved. That sex between committed people is nothing of which to be bashful. I want to clearly express a love, respect, and appreciation for my Husband. And I hope to show that someone might choose to love and nurture their spouse, too.

2 – That parenting “average” kids is exceptional. So much focus is on the “exceptional” (exceptionally advanced and/or delayed) kids that average Joes and Janes like we have are considered freaks. Really? Because I won’t smack some entitlement program label on my kids means they’re freaks? Hmmmm. So, I don’t intend to ever promote my kids’ as greater than another. They just are. And I wish more kids were just allowed to be, too. And I hope to show that and maybe others might be able to find greater appreciation for their average kids.

3 – Freedom is fleeting. With every grin and giggle labeled as a “right” the managing regulation of all those grins and giggles grows stripping us all of responsibility, accountability, and actual rights to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.

If I can choose it and then buy it, it is not a right. It is a commodity. If I can express this enough on my blog, then maybe just one more person’s eyes will be widened or even opened and that person will also express discontent with our dictatorial government and we can revolt to a minimalist state again. That will mean we will have to work harder. But the world will truly be our oyster again.

So, among emptying my head, I also profess the love and respect for my Husband, appreciation and gratitude for my average kids, and my desire to feel freedom. Those are definitely purposes of this blog.

Conscience, I say, not your own, but that of the other. For why is my liberty judged by another mans conscience? But if I partake with thanks, why am I evil spoken of for the food over which I give thanks? Therefore, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God. Give no offense, either to the Jews or to the Greeks or to the church of God, just as I also please all men in all things, not seeking my own profit, but the profit of many, that they may be saved.
1 Corinthians 10:29-33
NKJV

