No. I don’t intimidate people who don’t choose to live the way I am choosing to live.

 

But, it is true. Some folks are intimidated by those of us who learn at home. It’s the whole “Super Dad/Super Mom” thing. And honestly, it really hurts learning at home when there are bloggers and writers out there who never show the negatives and never have a messy house and never have disobeying children. I am not one of those bloggers. Have you noticed? Anyways, even I sometimes feel inferior to these moms that are doing the same things I am.

 

And there are more mainstream articles like this one that while they are more explicit in representing that parents make the CHOICE to learn at home still don’t, in my opinion, truly paint an accurate picture that learning at home is indeed a CHOICE that is not always a walk in the park. There are very challenging days for a variety of reasons. And that’s OK. We CHOSE this lifestyle. I know why people leave their kids with other people for 7+ hours a day. I KNOW.

 

Anyways, it is interesting. It is interesting to see how people to respond to the things I post. About breadmaking or dreamy afternoons. Or government stuff, or business stuff. I can see how folks can imagine I think I am the cat’s meow. And for my Husband and our children, I am. But that’s it. I share what I share to get it out of my head. And I do think that sometimes someone may benefit from reading my mixed up mind. I learn from other bloggers nearly daily. If that is intimidating then the person who feels intimidated is CHOOSING to feel that way. Life is a series of choices.

 

I choose to learn breadmaking with my children. I choose to struggle through a morning of listfulness. I choose to say, “Just go outside and play” and I choose to say, “You will sit still and listen to Bach’s biography. It’s his birthday!” I choose to teach the difference between “pee” and “urine” to the 7 year old and to have an impromptu conversation about virginity with my oldest. And I choose to be present. And I won’t apologize for it no matter how someone else CHOOSES to feel about my choices. They’re MY choices and they didn’t cost anyone else a DIME.

 

Unlike the choice to choose public mis-education.

 

And so we come back around to learning outside of the home. Yes, some people are intimidated by it. I don’t understand why. The only thing I can figure is that the person is not completely happy with his/her family’s choice and therefore feels the need to blame someone else for that negative feeling. But I am not a psychologist, nor do I play one on TV. That’s all I’ve got on that one. Because reality is, conventional school kids still way, way, way outnumber those that are allowed to learn outside of the government cage and so who has more power to intimidate?

 

And rest assured, I am not intimidated by public mis-education.

