It’s just now starting to sleet here good. The weather should turn to snow soon. It’s a pretty exciting thing to get snow down here in the south. And our first shot at it this winter.

We have a Hee-Haw DVD playing. Cathy Barton and Kenny Rogers are guests. Such good fun this is.

I’ve been taking a break from knitting (Rebekah Anne’s shawl !) by winding what yarn wasn’t tangled in the kids’ yarn basket.

20120219-162044.jpg

Good thing we visited The Twisted Knitter yesterday and the kids each chose a new skein of yarn. There ain’t much in that big basket!

Yesterday I made my BBQ sauce and slaw and then I cooked a picnic shoulder overnight. So dinner’s done! And I doubled my BBQ sauce recipe and put up 4 pint jars and 1 quart jar of the sauce. Canning makes me very happy.

20120219-162557.jpg

Something I’ve been canning a lot of lately is my Elderberry Syrup. I offer it to my local folk for $8 pint. It’s good for all kinds of things including colds, allergies, and blues. A quick google search will lead you to lots of recipes and information. Right now I use all organic ingredients except for fresh ginger root and local honey. Hopefully I will find good organic sources for those, too, soon.

20120219-162849.jpg

And now … in the very short time I took to write this post, it is snowing… I suppose now we really should assess our ski gear. Which will of course be just sledding gear. Until lunch tomorrow when it’s all melted. A perfect snow.

20120219-163044.jpg

20120219-163125.jpg

