Obviously, this is St. Valentine’s Day. It has been beaten and molded into a generally grotesque Hallmark affair. No less, I use this day, too, to show just a little extra somethin’ to my sweet family in the way of a standard meal on a dressed up table and a standard pie with red sea salt sprinkled on top.

I also, in my heart, feel a little extra love for the family and friends who I have either actively or passively chosen not to be with much or at all anymore. Not that bad blood passed in each situation, but it sure has in some. It doesn’t mean my love isn’t gone. It simply means I have a different perspective on what I can give to the relationship.

This post is written after much reflection on an email conversation with a friend yesterday. Not a close friend, really a peripheral friend. I am grateful for her time in communicating.

