20120207-085720.jpg

These are unbelievable.

Made from Lindley Mills’ (a local organic grain mill on an original mill site) Marvelous Oat bran Muffin mix, these are now a favorite. And made available all day long with apples and water, they’re a great way to purge all the Super Bowl fare from little (and big) bodies.

The mix directions say “just add water” but the ladies at the mill suggested lots of other things in lieu of water – orange juice, apple juice, milk, buttermilk, applesauce, half and half… And the list goes on and on before I even begin on the add-ins – fruit, nuts, flax, baking chips… Two cups of mix to 1/2 cup of liquid produces, according to the package, 6 large muffins. I am getting 8 regular muffins and I double the recipe each time so we have about 16-18 muffins on which to munch.

There are three (two-cup) batches in each two-pound bag at $2.50/ bag purchased direct from the mill. I am certain this is sold retail, I just don’t know where or for how much. The ingredients are not all organic, but the grains are. Check out the last picture below.

I also pick up organic all-purpose, organic whole wheat, organic grits, and organic rolled oats from the mill in 25# – 50# bags. So, if you’re a local folk and would like me to pick up and split for you, let me know by messaging me through the blog. I don’t charge “extra”, I just round up the per pound price to the nearest whole or half cent.

Here’s how we like our Oh So Marvelous Oat Bran Muffins:

5c Lindley Mill Marvelous Oat Bran Muffin Mix

1c orange juice

1/2c whole milk yogurt

Bake for about 25 minutes on 400F. Makes about 20 muffins.

20120207-091630.jpg

20120207-091703.jpg

this post linked with Raising Homemakers’ Homemaking Link-Up

