</

I am suddenly feeling very exposed as I participate in Orgjunkie.com ‘s Menu Plan Monday. This really is a big, wide open door for criticism. Criticism about the way I nourish our family, spend our money, spend our time. It’s kind of like a pharmacist knowing every med a family takes. And here I am just putting out quite personal information from dawn to dusk about our days…

I guess I am not the only one. And I wonder who this affects. Anyone? Does anyone even care? I don’t need anyone to care. This is a post for me, really. But I do wonder. Over time, I’ve shared food with friends when they were busy, hurting, or just as a little “thinking of you.” And that means so much to me to be able to share a part of myself like that. Maybe they remember…

Maybe. And maybe this little Monday meme brightens someone else’s day. Maybe.

Monday

breakfastPaula Deen’s shrimp-n-grits with eggs

lunch – sandwiches and fruit

dinner – fresh catch, salad, bread

MNF- bacon-wrapped scallops (recipe below!), fresh shrimp cocktail, coke floats

Tuesday

breakfast – raisin toast, juice

lunch – sandwiches, fruit

dinner – meatloaf, baked potatoes, salad

Wednesday

breakfast – rosemary eggs, toast, juice

lunch – chef salads with fresh croutons (egg mold post WILL happen this week)

dinner – Chicken Noodle soup (crock pot! Recipe Wednesday), Grandma’s Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

Thursday

breakfast – peanut butter toast, fruit smoothie

lunch – cold sesame noodle salad with hot green tea

dinner – Sweet and Smoky Corn Chowder with cornbread

Friday

breakfast – oatmeal with fruit

lunch – Mac-n-cheese

dinner – homemade pizza

Saturday

breakfast – sausage squares, fruit, juice

lunch – sandwiches/leftovers

dinner – grilled chicken sandwiches

Sunday

breakfast – biscuits, eggs, sausage

lunch – sandwiches, fruit

dinnerBaked Potato Soup with salad and bread

BACON WRAPPED SCALLOPS
This is my own recipe based on an appetizer at one of our favorite local restaurants. We make this so well, and so fresh, and well, just plain better such that it’s hard to order or anymore…

5 large (truly large) sea scallops, cut in fourths
Salt and Pepper
1T butter, melted
1 – 12oz package of bacon. (We prefer honey-hickory smoked.) Cut bacon in half.

Preheat BROIL on oven.

Salt and pepper scallops as desired. Toss in butter. Wrap each 1/4 scallop in half a piece of bacon, laying loose end down on a broiling pan or a sheet pan.

Broil until first side done as desired. (about 6-8 minutes) If not cooking on broiler, pour off juice. Flip to broil loose end side (about 4-6 minutes). Serve on a sweet platter.

It’s that easy! And the scallops are coming in here in the east coast. So eat ’em now!

20111009-203600.jpg

