The main groceries we visit each have what I call the “bent meat shelf.” It’s where the meat products that are about to expire live until they must be trashed. There are often lots of goodies including antibiotic-free chicken, the perfect cuts of beef for jerky, and even occasionally, deli meat.

I figure that as long as it is purchased before the “by” date and frozen immediately when we get home, it’s good. And we’ve yet to get sick that way, so I’ll keep on buying meat that way. Easily, 1/2 of the meat we eat comes from the bent meat shelf. Some days there’s nothing and some days it’s a jackpot. I just won’t buy fish that way.

Well, for tonight’s meal, I had only planned “crock pot” in hopes that what I wanted would go on special or be found on the bent meat shelf. I’ve used our reserve and so I was truly hopeful. And sure enough, Sunday, *voila*! Whole cut up chickens and split breasts were on the bent meat shelf. The good chicken, too. The two whole chickens were put in the freezer and the split breasts were grilled that night.

The leftover meat from the breasts was used in the Chicken & Black Bean Enchiladas for last night, which are delicious and best when made with homemade enchilada sauce, and dried black beans rather than canned. I wouldn’t typically want to use chicken again tonight. But I wanted less to go to the grocery this morning.

So last night I took one of the whole chickens and set it in the fridge to defrost some and this morning I put it in the crockpot for insanely good Adobo Chicken. It’s so easy. It’s a recipe from allrecipes.com, but I’ll post it here, too. It’s just that easy.

We’ll bake rice in the oven, add a spinach salad and enjoy a fresh, easy meal tonight together.

Slow-Cooker Adobo Chicken
by Adrienne Lapp as posted here on allrecipes.com

1 small sweet onion, sliced
8 cloves garlic, crushed
3/4c soy sauce
1/2c vinegar
1 whole chicken, cut up

Place chicken in slow cooker. In a small bowl, mix all other ingredients and pour over chicken. Cook on low 6-8 hours.

Oven Rice

Preheat oven to 350F.

In a casserole dish, put rice and the normal amount of water you’d use on the stove. (for example, the stove requires 2c water to 1c rice) If using brown rice, use 1.5 times the normal amount of water.

Add either a bouillon of vegetable, beef, or chicken stock or add one packet of Lipton onion soup mix. We prefer Better than Bouillon Vegetable. Dot with butter, cover with foil, or a lid.

For white rice, bake for 30 minutes. For brown rice, bake for one hour. Perfect results every time. And easy clean-up.

