I do not recall on what blog I first read about homemade pop-tarts. Seems like a soulemama thing to me. But I truly don’t recall. So, as usual, I take no credit.

What I have done is tweaked the recipe with my own pie crust and my own jam and my own brown sugar and cinnamon mix.
My Piecrust
(tweaked from many recipes tried before)

2c flour
1/2t salt
1c vegetable shortening
6T ice water
Mix salt and flour. Cut in shortening. Add water 1T at a time. You’ll know when it’s right. It comes together without being slimy or crumbly. On a fall day, it takes maybe 4T in my home. On a winter day with a fire going, usually all 6T. But each day and its temp and humidity is different. Mold it into a ball and close it up and let it chill in the fridge for a good 45 minutes or so. It can hang out in there all day or overnight, but if it does, it needs 5-10 minutes to soften before working. Here’s mine headed into the fridge:

20111005-193827.jpg

It’s a big ball because I double the recipe. But… When I roll it out, I only work with 1/2 of it at a time (or one recipe of it at a time).

Now, I am not a good dough-roller-outer. I haven’t given up, though. I roll it to about 1/8″ thick (often thicker because I am such a bad dough-roller-outer) and then trim it to pop-tart sizes. Which are irregular. Like me. And my family.

20111005-204643.jpg

Then the simplest part… I just put a dollop or spread our favorite jams on on of the halves. I have blueberry, peach, and blackberry jams we made from picking fruits at a local farm. So that’s what I use. When they’re all gone, it’ll be whatever I buy…

20111005-204828.jpg

Flip the other half over…

20111005-204920.jpg

I crimp with a fork…

20111005-204952.jpg

And I pop them on cookie sheets.

20111005-205028.jpg

The brown sugar and cinnamon’s, I make by spreading softened butter in one-half, sprinkle it with brown sugar, use the micro-plane to add some yummy cinnamon, and flip, crimp, and place on the cookie sheet like the others.

20111005-205159.jpg

20111005-205213.jpg

You can see how very precise and specific I am…

And how messy. Remember my Confession ?

20111005-205400.jpg

In the morning, I’ll turn the oven on 425F and walk down to get the sheets of pop-tarts. While the oven heats up, the pop-tarts will come get the chill knocked off and then I’ll bake them for 12-14 minutes. While they bake, I’ll take a couple of cups of powdered sugar, add a 1/2t of vanilla and stir and then slowly add bits of milk (whole, of course) until the glaze is the consistency I want.

20111006-080056.jpg

I don’t glaze them right away. They need to cool a bit first. And if I were a good mom, you know, like soulemama, I’d have some sweet vegetable-dyed, vegan sprinkles of some sort to make them extra cheerful. Instead, my kids will have to deal with “simmering silver” sugar I bought from the King Arthur catalog. It’s “silver” with blue, red, and yellow dyes in it. But it’s “Made in the USA”!

20111006-080924.jpg

Don’t they look good? And they really are. And they really are easy. Especially when made the night, or even better, the afternoon before.

