</

Here it is. Monday. And I am typing this blog before the kids wake and the organized (most days) chaos begins. And here’s Orgjunkie.com ‘s Menu Plan Monday.

I went overboard last week. Not a single dessert was made. NOT. ONE.  My poor family. While most plans were kept, not all. I think that maybe I am finally shaking whatever has had a grip on my throat and body for nearly three weeks. I think I have. I hope I have. I sure am praying I have. And so I’ll be human this week.

I am aiming at crockpot and casserole meals. Things I can prep the night before and not think about until time to eat. There are things in this house that need some attention. This morning it was so nice to wake to darkness, walk to the kitchen, turn on the oven and the coffeepot and then pop the Stuffed French Toast in the oven that I’d prepared the night before while making dinner. This is the basic recipe that introduced me to stuffed french toast, but I use whatever bread I have on hand, I add maple syrup to the egg batter, and we put the fruit on top. And I digress.

So, here is this week’s menu. A little more human.

Monday

breakfast – stuffed french toast

lunch – mac -n – cheese, salad

dinner – chili with cornbread

Tuesday

breakfast – breakfast cookies (recipe below!)

lunch – sandwiches

dinner – baked spaghetti and kale (from the garden!)

Wednesday

breakfast – brown rice with fruit

lunch – sandwiches

dinner – Chicken and Black Bean Enchilada Casserole

Thursday

breakfast – homemade pop tarts

lunch – chef salads (using our egg molds – visit Wednesday to see how fun they are!)

dinner – crock pot special (means I will see what the bent meat shelf holds…)

Friday

breakfast – cold cereal

lunch – sandwiches

dinner – fresh catch, salad

Saturday

breakfastshrimp and grits

lunch – snack lunch

dinner – fresh catch, salad

Sunday

breakfast – biscuits, eggs, bacon

lunch – creamy scallop linguine

dinner – fresh catch, salad

BREAKFAST COOKIES
I received this recipe in a swap and LOVE it. It can be made the night before. Just take it out of the fridge while you preheat the oven so the chill is knocked off.

Combine:   1-1/2 c flour, 1t baking soda, 1t salt, (mix well and set aside)

Cream: 1-1/3 c butter, 1-1/3 c sugar

Beat in: 3 eggs, 2t vanilla

Add flour mixture, stirring well.

Stir in:  3c reg rolled oats, 2c shredded cheddar cheese (I use Mex blend), 1c wheat germ, 12 slices of cooked and crumbled bacon.

Drop by teaspoonfuls on ungreased cookie sheet. Bake at 350F for 15 – 17 minutes. Cool one minute on coolie sheet.

Makes about 4 dozen cookies.

