Tonight there is a memorial for someone I love and care for so very much. She is gone. I know she is with God in heaven. I know she is not in pain. I know she is not in conflict. I know she has no worries. I am grateful.

Tonight there is a memorial for her at the church we previously attended with her. She had been a member there for over 60 years. It is a part of the Women of the Church’s Annual Celebration. And she should be honored.

I know when to say, “no.” I know I cannot attend this event without feeling angry at the people who turned their backs on her when she needed them most. I cannot attend this event without feeling angry at the people who talked a big game but never played in the game. People who she trusted. And all led by a woman who calls herself  “Pastor” yet never expressed any concern or interest in my loved one except when it helped “Pastor” save face.

I know that some people take time to come around. And that’s fine. And I know this may be an opportunity for those people to make peace with the way they cast my sweet friend out. I know that. And I hope they do find peace.

I have peace. I know that this memorial means nothing in the eternal life of her. I know it means nothing in the eternal life of me. I know when to say, “no” so that I don’t say something I shouldn’t.