Don’t I really do pretty much everything my way? Well, there are a few things I do by-the-book…maybe.

Last week I mentioned that with the Hillbilly Stir-Fry experiment also came an ice cream experiment and promised to share what came of it. Well, it was gone in no time flat so I suppose, technically, not much came of it! I basicaly attempted to meld two recipes – one being Mam-Maw’s and one being a modern one. Well, I was hopeful, because homemade ice cream ain’t cheap. And if I could do it, It would be at least a little more reasonable.

Just so there is no mistaking – the following recipe was made in a 6-quart White Mountain ice cream freezer. I know you don’t need this info, but to adjust it for a 4-quart freezer, just use 2/3 of the recipe. For 2-quarts, 1/3.

So, here’s what I did: I mixed the following in a saucepan and stirred it over med heat until it started to simmer.

4c sugar

3T cornstarch

3/4t salt

7 c milk

Right after I got all that mixed in the saucepan, I beat 6 eggs and melted most of a bag of semisweet chocolate chips. Most, well, yes, most. It is a requirement to eat some lest I poison my family.

After the mixture simmered, I tempered the eggs into it and whipped it real good until it started to thicken. Then I added the melted chocolate, whipped it again, and then added 1-1/2 can of condensed milk and some vanilla, maybe 1T. Whipped it again… I wasn’t in a bad mood, but I imagine if I were, the ice cream might have been a bit lighter from more aggressive whipping.

I let it hang out in the fridge and chill and then when we were ready the next day, just loaded it in the ice cream freezer and did the ice cream freezer thing. It was gooood. Not nearly as light textured as when I use whipping cream and half-and-half, but not nearly as expensive, either, as when I use whipping cream and half-and-half.

The fantastic blogger would now post a picture, but not me. Because I am not a fantastic blogger.

So, we made this 6 quarts of chocolate ice cream and there was some left after each had his share. So, the next day we made ice cream muffins. Yes. Ice Cream Muffins. This is a neat little recipe Rebekah Anne learned at a cooking class this summer.

Stir one cup of premium (not low- or fake-anything) ice cream until it is soft.

Stir in 1c of self-rising flour and 1t of baking powder, just until mixed.

Pour into 6 greased muffin cups and bake at 350F for about 15 minutes. We doubled the recipe because, well, the muffin tin has 12 spots, why would we only make 6?

And here is what they looked like. (Apparently I thought I was a fantastic blogger the next day.)

20110816-073446.jpg

So there is our experiment. I call it successful.

