I am absolutely determined to can stuff from the garden this year. I’ve never had enough of anything in the past because we eat it all too fast. It’s just SO good…

So, with a friend sharing her bounty this year, I decided to get my canning fix by making one of my favorite things. My Grandma’s bread and butter pickles. And then I’m giving all of them back to my friend who can have something of a reminder of her first-year garden success. What a fun way to say “Thank You for sharing!”

20110627-095902.jpg

So, I pulled out the recipe. Made the pickles, canned them, labeled them, wrapped them, and then tucked them in a cute bag with a homemade dishcloth just because I like to make knitted and crocheted dishcloths.

20110627-100101.jpg

Jo Chalifour’s Bread and Butter Pickles
6 quarts sliced cucumbers
6 large onions
3/4 cup salt
1 quart vinegar
2 cups water
2-4 cups sugar (depending on how sweet you want them)
2 TBSP celery seed
2 TBSP mustard seed

Combine cucumbers, onions, salt and let sit for 3 hours.

Combine all other ingredients in a large pot and bring to a boil. Add cucumbers and onions and return to boiling point and take off of heat. Pack in sterilized jars. Allow to rest for four weeks!

(This recipe was given to me by my Grandma in her own writing in July 1998 and I have passed it on to my Tough Italian Broad and you this sixth month of 2011.)

