I am going to likely post twice today. I had to stop the other post when an email came across to me from my economics guru. It was a youtube video. How about you take 2 minutes and 9 seconds to view it first here. Then come back and let me point out a few points just in case you missed them.

Now… I’m going to treat this video as if it were a short essay like the ones I have my kids analyze to help them in their writing.

What is the main idea of this speech?
The power of the NEA.

What three details and/or facts support the main idea?
1 – “[The NEA is powerful] not because we care about the children.”

2 – We are the union who can most effectively represent them. The unions that can protect their rights and advance their interests as education employees.”

3 – The goals for which the NEA works –  “closing achievement gaps, reducing drop out rates, improving teacher quality, and the like” – “need not and must not be achieved at the expense of due process, employee rights, and collective bargaining.”

There you have it. The NEA to which most teachers in my state and across the country belong, is not in the game as a public servant, the outcry of all who “serve.” It’s in it for power. Because once the union, which it clearly admitted in October of 2009, has no interest in the students, its members through their dues admit they have no interest in the children. The interest is in the power. The power to wield an ax at your child’s mind and heart for its own self-interest.
Now, watch the chaos in Wisconsin, Ohio, Indiana from that perspective. And don’t say they, the very people you entrust with your children for nearly half of their lives until age 18, didn’t warn you. Because they did.

