I didn’t forget, I just had to figure out a way to get through this piece of crap. Now, keep in mind in the event you actually read the first three entries, that I am not picking on Barry. I am confident I could take nearly any SotU address in the past and rip it apart under most of the same premises. This isn’t a republican or democrat thing. It is a freedom thing. And I want my freedom back. Oh. And I am typing on a tiny touch screen so I have significantly less patience today.

So last we talked about the cuffs cinced tight on our wrists, we were planning to out-innovate, out-educate, and out-build all of mankind. Excuse me  – *slurp* – vomit in my throat. So what now?

Well, apparently a random reference to the space program gets everyone excited! “This is our Sputnik moment.”

Two years ago, I said that we needed to reach a level of research and development we haven’t seen since the height of the Space Race.  And in a few weeks, I will be sending a budget to Congress that helps us meet that goal.  We’ll invest in biomedical research, information technology, and especially clean energy technology -– (applause) — an investment that will strengthen our security, protect our planet, and create countless new jobs for our people.

No, We don’t need to invest in research. That is a private venture. Our government has no role in research. None. Some people argue that the government is the best research platform because it is neutral – not looking for an income stream from its research, only working for the people. No. It isn’t. The government IS looking for an income stream. What research has the government produced that has not led to more regulation in the form of taxes and fees? Feed the government monster… Leave research to private entities. If they are motivated with profit, then good! They’ll focus on what matters. Whether or not a chimpanzee gets hooked on cocaine does not matter.

Already, we’re seeing the promise of renewable energy. 

 

As a hydropower co-producer,  will not address this other than to say that there is a reason power companies are called “power” companies. And all of their power is derived from the government. All of their infrastructure is underwritten with my tax money. All of it. Ever read about the Great Electrification of the South? Check into it. Your eyes will open to government’s seizing of the landscape all in the name of progress. Oh – one more thing… green, renewable energy existed long before a single power line. All current renewable tecnologies are devastating to the envrionment.

 With more research and incentives, we can break our dependence on oil with biofuels, and become the first country to have a million electric vehicles on the road by 2015.

*slurp* Sorry. Vomit in the throat again. Where in the world do electric vehicles get their charge? Uh. Power plants. Primarily coal and nuclear powered. There is no such thing a zero-emission vehicle. The person who plugs her car into a wall and gets a warm fuzzy is actually feeling the EMF feeding that outlet.

So tonight, I challenge you to join me in setting a new goal:  By 2035, 80 percent of America’s electricity will come from clean energy sources. 

Statements like this, from anyone, just annoy me. No one knows what is going to happen in 2035. I don’t even tink it’s wise to predict to 2021. Maybe to 2016. But that’s far enough… When any person starts talking more than 5 years out, I shut down. I don’t know that there are modern-day prophets.

I am unable to discuss the comments leading up to the “Race to the Top” education initiative. Any regular reader to this blog knows well how I feel about education at gunpoint.

Let’s also remember that after parents, the biggest impact on a child’s success comes from the man or woman at the front of the classroom.

 

After parents? Stop. After parents? The kids in the neighborhood above me get on the bus at 645a. They get off of the bus at about 330p. I know some of them are involved in extracurricular activities that don’t bring them home until dinner or later. And of those that aren’t, I know some go home to empty homes. I am going to assume they are away maybe 30 minutes before they step on the bus and they went to sleep by 10p.  By my simple math, that means that, in general, these kids see their parents maybe 3-4 hours a day, yet the government has them 8 hours a day… hmmm… who is first?

And I thought I could wrap this up here… but I can’t. I need to brush my teeth and rinse the accumulating vomit out of my mouth. And it isn’t even about the education thing or teaching thing. It’s about wondering why kids are pregnant at 12 and why they are hellians and stupid hellians at that. Wake up. Don’t have kids if you don’t want to parent.

