Breadmaking is supposedly this big deal that is shrouded in secret methods. And it is supposedly something all homeschoolers are required to do.

Well, I’m just really getting around to it. Apparently, I missed the memo.

I’ve followed this recipe passed down through generations. I’ve followed that recipe guaranteed foolproof with today’s refined high-quality ingredients. Neither of those nor any other recipes matter. What does matter is the humidity and temperature in my house.

I’ve decided to start approaching breadmaking like I approach pizza dough making. Start with the prescribed proportions of water to yeast. Let the yeast bloom well. Very well. Toss in some oil and salt, then add flour and sugar as it makes sense and feels like it should.

When it’s damp, add more flour. When it’s dry, don’t bake with whole wheat. And always set the dough to rise on the hearth with a thin, damp cottom cloth over it. Then, well, I don’t know what next. I’ll figure that part out later.

There’s a pizza out of the oven already and another soon to come out.

The pizza is usually good. It all depends on the dough. The less I worry over it, the better it is. That’s what I’m going to do with my breadmaking-worry less over it.

That’s probably a good idea for life in general. I’ll call it The Pizza Dough Principle.

