Now that I have Emily in the Kitchen, I don’t feel so impulsive as to post many recipes here. Or really many food-related posts. That’s kind of weird because food and cooking and baking is a pretty big part of my day nearly every day. And like Emily, sigh… I enjoy it!

Emily’s Pumpkin Roll post reminded me of a Raising Homemakers post from last week. This recipe for {Scrumptious}Pumpkin Pancakes is shared by Jennifer who blogs regularly at Blessed Femina. I want you to take a good look at her picture, then mine… I know. I know. Mine don’t look nearly as yummy, but they were every bit as yummy as we expected them to  be. And they were an extra special treat for my pumpkin loving eldest daughter.

When I was sick at the beginning of the week, I made Curried Chicken and Rice Soup. It was just right. Yes, again, I know. Milk should not be consumed during a cold because it causes excess phlegm. I know. And I made this anyway.

 Doesn’t it look good! And yes, the wee-est had to have her bowl photographed as well. I roasted a whole chicken (they were on sale last week) and then picked it clean for two meals worth of meat. I did increase the seasoned salt to 2t, the curry to 3T, and the stock by 2c to make up for the decrease in evaporated milk to 2 cans. That helps some with the phelgm, right?

OH! And a recent favorite in our home is these Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars. YUM. Better than a Reese’s cup. I follow the recipe to a tee. It’s easy, quick, and I almost always have all the ingredients on hand for a quickie treat. Don’t they even look perfect?

Hey! I just offered up nearly a whole day’s worth of meals. Oh, let’s make it a whole day, shall we!?!

 Wanna know how to make the best grilled sandwich ever?  Put a heavy cast iron skillet on the stove on medium-low heat and let it warm. Build your sandwich – for Husband it’s a thin layer of mayonnaise, deli ham, nacho slices of pickled jalapenos, and pepperjack cheese. Heavily butter one side of the bread, put the sandwick butter side down in the skillet, lowering the heat to low. Let it sizzle and simmer until it’s an auburn-brown shade and then flip it and pop a steak weight on it. Let it do it’s magic sizzle dance again and perfecto. Yum yum yum. Now that’s Feeding My Husband. Make two sandwiches just to be sure he doesn’t want another.

There you go! Wasn’t I unexpectedly helpful in your meal planning today? Emily would be so proud.

