Somewhere towards the end of May last year I decided I needed to lose weight. Yeah, yeah, I already knew that. But for some reason, and I don’t know why, I decided to make it happen. Maybe it was because I realized that we would not likely have more children and there was hope beyond maternity clothes. Maybe it was the heat building down here in the South. Maybe it was just my mind was at a good place. I don’t know.

Here’s where I remember my mind being. I wasn’t crazy about the way I looked. But I also didn’t feel like I *had* to change who I was. I was content. As long as I didn’t get bigger. I think I had to be content in order to do something. And the something had to be relatively low-key. I didn’t want the kids to take too much notice.

So, I found this FREE app for the iTouch called Lose It! The reviews were incredible. It’s just a calorie counter that considers a person’s Basal Metabolic Rate (BMR), current weight, and pounds wished to lose each week (1/2 to 2) and determines how many calories per day that person needs to help lose the requested pounds within 7 days. And each 7 day period gives a fresh new start.

I worked with Lose It! for a few weeks and then sometime over the summer started walking on the treadmill, too. I could barely walk at 3 mph for 15 minutes. But… by September I was jogging for 30 minutes at 4 mph. And now I can fast jog/slow run at 5 mph for 35-45 minutes depending on how driven I am. I am even able to run at 6-7mph for 2-3 minutes on days when I feel especially giddy. WOW!

And the pounds came off pretty fast. At least the first 4o or so. I don’t really weigh myself often. We don’t own a scale, so the wii has to do. And I find that if I do weigh myself, I OCD over it more than usual. And besides, I don’t really care about the number. I have come down several clothing sizes, but those numbers don’t matter to me, either.
What matters to me are 1.) how Husband views me and 2.) finding clothes that fit with ease. I don’t think I’ve repulsed Husband by any means, but I sure do like that glimmer in his eye when I’m lookin’ good. Know what I  mean? And I do not like to shop so being able to walk into a store knowing that most likely I will walk out with something is a dream come true.

I enjoy this newly discovered fitness that makes it easy for me to race around the house with my kids, wear better fitting clothing, and igniting sparks in Husband’s mind. I’ve branched out beyond the treadmill to the free FitTV On Demand videos on cable. I’m getting stronger. Inside and out. And I am especially proud of the fact that I’ve done it without paying a membership to anyone.
And, in the interest of full disclosure, here are two very unflattering photos. The first is from May 2009. The last is from August 2010. Wow. This morning is the first time I’ve compared any photos side-by-side. Wow.

