Many moons ago I had the opportunity to fly to New York, upstate. Uh… what was the town…Saugerties. What a cute town. I saw many new things. I saw liquor stores in gas stations. I saw gambling in churches. And I saw a lighthouse on the Hudson River in which you can rent a room for the night.

But it was the trip into New York City to one place in NYC that stands out for me. The main branch of the New York Public Library on 5th Avenue, I think. Whoa. Yes, the sculptured lions out front were incredibly precious and strong all at the same time. And then I walked inside. Whoa. THere was all this information that I did not know, could not know, never have known. I have had a bit of anxiety in libraries ever since. Not kidding. Even walking into our tiny little local library branch causes a pent-up, tight-chested feeling in me. But I get through it. I enjoy books that much.

So there is so much I do not know.

I do not know why scrambled eggs cooked in bacon grease taste better than those cooked in sausage grease.

I do not know why one son will wear long pants and long sleeves on a 90 degree day and short pants and short sleeves on a 65 degree morning.

I do not know why a quarterback can be tackled only some of the time if the goal of football is to tackle everyone.

I do not know why dried pintos make a better broth than canned pintos.

I do not know why I struggle to find the constellations depsite my every effort and H.A. Rey’s help.

I do not know why some folks think Christians shouldn’t drink or dance or have awesome sex with their spouses.

I do not know why women are so mean to each other.

I do not know how men consider grunting at the TV a conversation.

I do not know why my kids stick gum under the counter.

I do not know why the okra is nearly 7 feet tall, but the summer squash never produced a decent fruit.

I do not know why people who choose not to learn at home are so fiercely cruel and indignant of those who do.

I can go on and on and on and on.

So, today, in honor of my young friend who has only been given the opportunity to listen to sophists thus far, I am only asking questions. Do you have any answers? Or questions?

