Few things are more welcoming than a slow-to-wake morning and the smell of coffee and breakfast drifting into the bedroom. I enjoy making breakfast more than any other meal. Here are a couple of my favorite recipes to prepare, their sources, and my tweaks and twirls to make them my own.

On a morning like today when our guests will be in and out too soon for a full-on Southern breakfast, I like to make Cinnamon Flop from page 14 of Gooseberry Patch’s A Pinch of This, A Dash of That (Gooseberry Patch, 1999).

1 c sugar   

2 c flour

2 T baking powder

1 T butter, very soft or melted

1 c milk

brown sugar

cinnamon

butter

“Sift sugar, flour, and baking powder together. Add butter and milk and stir until well blended. Divide mixture between 2 well-oiled 9″ pie or cake pans. Sprinkle dough with desired amounts of brown sugar and cinnamon, and add pats of butter. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.”

It turns out much like a coffee cake. Upon a friend’s experimentation with the recipe, I now add as she suggests vanilla and an egg. For a really neat flavor, add almond extract. Mmmm…

Probably my favorite recipe by description EVER are Mama’s Hot Cakes from the Bethabara Moravian Cook Book compiled by the Women’s Fellowship in 1992. This is a cookbook I acquired from a Swift Thrift. And it’s timeless. I can just see all these sweet old ladies sitting in a room sifting through their favorite old recipes. And the recipes are all followed by their names. This one is by “Florence Fulp (Mrs. Guy).” How awesome is that? “(Mrs. Guy)” LOVE IT!

Mama’s Hot Cakes

2 1/3 c buttermilk

2 eggs

2 heaping t baking powder

1/2 t soda

1/2 t salt

3 t sugar

NOW wait for it… Here comes the recipes directions. And I am convinced this is why it’s called “Mama’s” Hot Cakes…

“Be sure to beat well. Now add 2 c flour. Beat well again. Pour into griddle and brown on both sides.”

Don’t you just know that this recipe is written for a mama getting a grip of her day and in hopes of not clobbering a kid before lunch? I think the “beat well” and “beat well again” are so stinkin’ funny I can hardly stand it! I get a huge grin on my face every time I make this recipe. And I make it exactly as written every time. Here’s a hint, though…buttermilk is best for baking after the “best by” date. And local dairy buttermilk is always better than mass-produced buttermilk. There is just no better texture.

For a quicker clean-up on your range, serve your Mama’s Hot Cakes with bacon cooked in the oven on a broiler pan with foil underneath the grill plate. No splatters on the top and just crumple up the foil and rinse the pan!

I was going to write about biscuits today as well, as I’ve often been asked how do I make them, but that is a long story and now our company is waking and our children as well. So please check back soon!

Happy Saturday!

