I was going to hold this for another day. But after a sweet lunch with one of my very favorite people, I wanted to post share this today. To Love Honor and Vacuum shares her thoughts on Dating and Courtship. And a book I hope you consider reading after this blog is So Much More by Anna and Elizabeth Botkin.

Honestly, I had never heard of courtship outside of the early 1900s until a dear friend shared with me what her daughter’s intentions were in regards to accepting courtiers rather than choosing to date. Now, I find myself wanting this more and more for my children. Yes, they’re young, but with the pressures of “boyfriends” and “girlfriends” starting in church nurseries – yes, they do – I do feel it imperative to help shape my children’s views on dating and courting.

Dating is an interview for marriage. Why go to dinner with someone with whom you don’t have any interest in marrying? Well how am I going to get to know him? Through courting. Spend time with him in the presence of your families and friends. Share experiences that encourage talking and expression beyond staring at a movie screen and making the looooong reach for the popcorn.

I must confess. I never really dated. Sure, I went on a few dates. And yes, I had a couple of boyfriends before I married at the ripe age of 23. But I never dated. And I had no idea how to even go about it. To me, as I feel right now, how to journey through courtship is as important a discussion (or series of age-appropriate discussions) as is “THE” talk about puberty. With a guide such as So Much More  and support from people like Sheila at To Love, Honor, and Vacuum, I know I can find my way through this.

Husband came to me. He literally landed in my world. And probably saved me a lifetime of disappointment. But it doesn’t happen like this for everyone. I want my kids to have their heads on straight…  You can read more from the Botkins at their websire here. happy reading.

