After yesterday’s post regarding getting outside even when it’s blazing hot in the humid South, I thought it only fair to share that we do indeed do things indoors. And so I thought I’d just share a few examples.

And yes, while this will likely look all romatic and novel even to me as I proof the post, I assure you we do indeed use the TV. I do genuinely limit it, but let’s be real. Sometimes I need these children to be focused on something other than me. Sounds conceited, but have you ever been with a posse most every waking hour of every day?

The three eldest must fold their own laundry. The two eldest must also wash and flip it. At least most of the time. Laundry is a great way to keep a child’s hands busy (and not on a sibling or a snack), their minds engaged in sorting and categorizing, and it helps the family by reducing Momma’s workload and stress load. Kids also enjoy washing windows and baseboards and *sigh* toilets. At least two of mine eagerly enjoy donning gloves and mopping the bowl… So put your kids to work. No sense in you doing everything!

The amount of role play in our home exceeds any scale of measurement. This just happens to be the most accessible shot, but there are, of course, tea parties. But there are also classrooms, trips to the mall, food show productions, veterinary offices, superhero rescues, xgames, etc. Other than the aftermath of stuff left everywhere after a role playing moment, the input from Momma is minimal and therefore ideal. We’re working on the clean-up part.

Model building is by far the single best attention-focused pursuit for boys who are turning the double-digit corner. And it’s relatively cheap when mastering the use of 40% and 50% off coupons at local craft stores. One model can lend me, er, my son many hours over at least a few days of time to focus on something other than a sibling that looks too undisturbed or a refrigerator with good eats. Just keep in mind that as the boy begins, his patience is weak and his model will look, well, weak. But give him the space and time to develop this fine motor and intense focus skills and you and he will both reap great rewards. And I don’t mean the model…

Fiber arts, here weaving, are the single greatest indoor pursuit for any child. Girls are drawn to handwork skills but boys should learn them as well. Be prepared for a rough beginning. I’ve had only one child take to the skills without frustration. Often the aggravation with uncooperative hands and fingers will rise to the point of wanting to stop, sometimes yelling, and often stomping.  But as I continue working with them they settle into the rhythm and will sit quietly and work. Most handwork projects require more than a few days to complete. Not only does a child develop patience like with the model building, but he also has a great sense of pride from having accomplished a not-so-lost art.
There is also reading, cooking, drawing, piano, etc etc etc. These were just a few of the things I recall from my mind as I was thinking about what to write today. What do you do at home indoors to pass the day away?

