This is a wholly self-centered post. Of course all blogging is self-centered. But this one is especially so.

 

It is just after 9a and the kids are doing chores. We’re about to have a conversation about how to adjust our rhythm for the warmer months ahead so that we maintain a balance among our home, our activities, and our lessons. It’s an ever-changing thing and I think it’s time to address it again. The warm, long days in the sunshine result in bed around 930 and waking between 8-9. I think we may need a new commitment to quiet time and an earlier rising time.Yes, we have not used our alarms in many weeks.

 

I have had a need to be mostly quiet since the holy days last week. I cannot explain why. Maybe because of an event with the oldest where we had to accept and move forward. Maybe because of a decision our family has made.  Maybe because of a distance with my sister. Maybe because it was our first Easter without Mam-Maw. Maybe because my heart knew that those greatest of days needed more quiet. I just knew. And so, I’ve had lots to share, but very little desire to share it.

 

Also in the transition world is my own homemaking rhythm. Unlike the children, I don’t sleep until 8 or 9. I wake between 530 and 6 most mornings, just in time to make breakfast for us. I really treasure this time. I don’t always want to get out of bed. I do always want this time with him.

 

With the children sleeping so late, I just keep working  once he leaves. Generally I am moving laundry, baking, making breakfast. Quiet stuff. Today, laundry for the week is done, so I made some bread, started a sourdough sponge, browned some steak and roasted some vegetables for soup. That’s gonna be a good and wise soup. It’s a steak I bought on bent meat with leftover roasted potatoes from Tuesday’s dinner, and a random mix of the vegetable in the bin – spaghetti squash, green peppers, carrots, celery, onion, and for good measure, I topped a garlic bulb and roasted it in the center and then squeezed it into the vegetable broth when I put the veggies in the crockpot. I’ll add the meat and potatoes this afternoon.

 

So, my world is pretty quiet. It is strange. I like quiet. I miss my sister. C’est la vie.

